Death

I was thinking about what I’d write if I wrote about Death while I was in the bathroom today, and I decided that how you feel about death depends on how much experience you’ve had with it.  I’m lucky that I haven’t had a shocking death happen in my life…meaning a person my age or younger dying very young.  Actually I could argue that the “hardest” death I’ve had to go through was the death of a neighbor a couple years ago, but it wasn’t that surprising because he had a bad heart.

Right now, I don’t have a great fear of death, but who knows…maybe the fear grows as you get closer to it. Depends on the person, I suppose.  I believe medical technology actually keeps us alive too long; people probably shouldn’t live much past 80 if they can’t live an independent life any longer.  It might be easy to say now, but if I live until 75 or 80 or 85, I think I’ll be able to say I had a good run, put in a good effort, and will be ready to die peacefully.  It gets much more complicated and emotional when a person dies unfairly before a “good run” of 75, 80, 85 years.

Image result for death funny quotes

8 comments

  1. amichalak

    I disagree with the sentiment of technology keeping us alive longer being a bad thing. I also disagree with immortality being a fate worse than death. A longer life gives one more time to experience the world.

Post a comment